Secretarial Notes Regional Planning Affiliation (RPA) Technical Advisory and Policy Board Joint Meeting

9:00 a.m.

Thursday, May 26, 2022

Date:

Time:

Place: ECIA, 7600 Commerce Park/Zoom **Technical Advisory Board Members Present: ☐** Todd Kinney, (Chair) Anthony Bardgett **Anthony Bardgett** Engineer, Clinton County Engineer, Dubuque County Delaware County Engineer \boxtimes (proxy Tom Determann) (proxy Harley Pothoff) \boxtimes (proxy Jeff Madlom) **⊠** Josh Boldt ☐ David Dryer ☐ Tim Vick, (Vice-Chair) Engineer, Jackson County City of Manchester City of Maquoketa (proxy Jack Willey) (proxy Connie Behnken) (proxy Diane Frandsen) **⊠** Gail Kuhle **⊠** Steve Lindner **⊠** Jason Craft City of DeWitt City of Clinton Regional Transit Authority (proxy Matt Brooke) (proxy Stacie Scott) **Dennis Hart** ☐ Randy Zobrist **☐** Kelley Deutmeyer Clinton MTA Riverbend Transit ECIA Executive Director (proxy Holly McPherson) **Policy Board Members Present: ⊠** Jeff Madlom **Harley Pothoff ☐** Jack Willey (Vice-Chair) Dubuque County Jackson County Delaware County (proxy Jay Wickham) (proxy David Dryer) \boxtimes (proxy Anthony Bardgett) **▼** Tom Determann Connie Behnken **X** Steve Hasenmiller Clinton County City of DeWitt City of Manchester \boxtimes (proxy Todd Kinney) \boxtimes (proxy Tim Vick) \boxtimes (proxy Steve Lindner) ☐ Tom Messerli Scott Maddasion (Chair) Dave Heiar City of Maquoketa City of Clinton Small Cities, Jackson County (proxy Josh Boldt) \boxtimes (proxy Jason Craft) (proxy vacant) (proxy Matt Brooke) ☐ Linda Gaul Mick Michel Andrew Kida Small Cities, Delaware County Small Cities, Dubuque County Small Cities, Clinton County (proxy Donna Boss) Sam Shea∗ **☐** Kelley Deutmeyer **☐** Larry McDevitt IA DOT Transit Representative (RTA) ECIA Executive Director (proxy Holly McPherson) Others Present: Kelley Brown, Russell Weber **Staff Present:**

A quorum was present. *Non-Voting Advisory Member

Chandra Ravada

Transportation Director

Sarah Berning

Project Services Manager

Dan Fox

Senior Planner

Chris Wesseln

Planner I

Call to Order

The RPA Technical Advisory Board meeting was called to order by RPA Technical Advisory Board Chair, Todd Kinney at 9:00 a.m.

The RPA Policy Board meeting was called to order by RPA Policy Board Vice-Chair, Jack Willey at 9:00 a.m. Introductions were made at this time.

Review/Approve the Agenda for the Thursday, May 26, 2022, Technical Advisory Board and Policy Board joint meeting

Motion by Bardgett, second by Kinney from the RPA Technical Advisory Board to approve the agenda for the Thursday, May 26, 2022, RPA meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Madlom, second by McDevitt from the RPA Policy Board to approve the agenda for the Thursday, May 26, 2022, RPA meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Review/Approve the minutes and receive and file the secretarial notes from Thursday April 28, 2022, RPA Policy and Technical Advisory Board joint meeting

Motion by Bardgett, second by McPherson from the RPA Technical Advisory Board to approve the minutes and receive and file the secretarial notes from Thursday April 28, 2022, RPA Technical Advisory Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Michel, second by Heiar from the RPA Policy Board to approve the minutes and receive and file the secretarial notes from Thursday April 28, 2022, RPA Policy Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Review/Approve Final Fiscal Year 2023 RPA 8 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)

Motion by Determann, second by Madlom to open the public hearing. The motion passed unanimously. The public hearing was opened at 9:07 a.m.

Ravada referred to the TPWP handout stating the IADOT requested to have a clear explanation within the TPWP regarding the budgets for carryover funds, what funding is being used and what it is being used for. No other changes were made. Ravada requested approval from the Board so the TPWP can be submitted to the IA DOT.

Motion by Vick, second by Bardgett to recommend to the RPA 8 Policy Board approval of the Final Fiscal Year 2023 RPA 8 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP). The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by McDevitt, second by Pothoff to approve the Final Fiscal Year 2023 RPA 8 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP). The motion passed unanimously.

Review/Approve Draft Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2023-2026 RPA 8 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Ravada referred to the TIP handout, requesting the Board to review the TIP to confirm all projects are accounted for within the TIP. Ravada informed the Board that until further guidance from the IADOT on the new transportation bill IIJA, staff will continue with guidance from the old bill, FAST ACT. Ravada stated the board has one month to review and comment.

Ravada reminded the board that the TAP applications for TAP funds are due on Friday June 3, 2022.

Motion by Bardgett, second by Vick to recommend to the RPA 8 Policy Board approval of the Draft Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2023-2026 RPA 8 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Madlom, second by Heiar to approve the Dradt Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2023-2026 RPA 8 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The motion passed unanimously.

Review/Approve Final draft of RPA 8 2045 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP)

Ravada informed the board that all changes have been made there were giving by the IADOT. Ravada stated staff followed the principals from the FAST ACT. Ravada stated the board has 30 days to provide comments and changes.

Motion by McPherson, second by Determann to close the public hearing. The motion passed unanimously. The public hearing was closed at 9:16 a.m.

Motion by Bardgett, second by Vick to recommend to the RPA 8 Policy Board approval of the Final draft of RPA 8 2045 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP). The motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Kida, second by Pothoff to approve the Final draft of RPA 8 2045 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP). The motion passed unanimously.

Comments from the public

There was no public present or written comments received.

Other Business and Announcements

IADOT Commission Meeting

Ravada stated the IADOT Commission meeting is in Coralville on June 14th. If you would like to be added to the agenda, contact Shea.

Bardgett

Anthony Bardgett informed the Board he has accepted a position with the IADOT and his last day as Dubuque/Delaware County engineer will be July 15th.

Adjournment

Motion by Bardgett, second by Vick to adjourn the Thursday, May 26, 2022, RPA Technical Advisory Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 9:23 a.m.

Motion by McDevitt, second by Determann to adjourn the Thursday, May 26, 2022, RPA Policy Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 9:23 a.m.

Respectfully,

Chandra Ravada Transportation Director